Platinum Award for Sports

24th July 2018

Laureate joins Elite Group of Platinum Award-Winning Sporting Schools


We are delighted to announce that Laureate Community Academy has achieved the School Games Platinum Mark Award for the 2017/18 academic year.

The School Games Mark is a Government led award scheme launched in
2012, facilitated by the Youth Sport Trust to reward schools for their commitment to the development of competition across their school and into the community, and we are delighted to have been recognised for our success.

Having achieved five consecutive Gold Mark Awards, this was the first year that we were eligible to apply for the Platinum Mark Award, so to achieve it at the first attempt was a fantastic achievement. In order to meet the criteria for the Platinum Mark, we were required to submit a case study, demonstrating our outstanding provision: for this, we focussed on the innovative ways in which we involve pupils in planning and delivering our competition offer. A video showcasing our pupil leaders can be viewed on our website here.

We are extremely proud of our pupils for their dedication to all aspects of school sport, including those young volunteers, leaders and officials who made our competitions possible.

As part of our application, we were asked to fulfil criteria in the areas of participation, competition, workforce and clubs, and we are pleased that the hard work of everyone at our school has been rewarded this year.

Special thanks to Mrs Ruth Baxter and Mr Tim Coote, our PE Leaders, who organise so many clubs and competitions in school and beyond; Ian Jackson, the Forest Heath School Sports Association School Games Organiser, who coordinates competitions across the locality; all of the other staff who deliver exceptional PE and sports provision throughout the school, both in lessons and in co-curricular clubs; and, most importantly, to our pupil leaders - Sports Leaders, House Captains and Playground Buddies and more - who were central to our application for the Platinum Mark Award.